Ruturaj Gaikwad’s ton overshadowed by Sheldon Jackson’s century as Saurashtra beat Maharashtra in remaining to clinch 2nd Vijay Hazare Trophy | Cricket Information

Sheldon Jackson performed one of the necessary innings of his profession, an unbeaten 133, to information Saurashtra to their second Vijay Hazare Trophy title as they comfortably beat Maharashtra by 5 wickets within the remaining, right here Friday. Saurashtra’s well-oiled bowling unit led by its skipper, tamed a formidable batting line-up from Maharashtra earlier than previous home warhorse Jackson’s unbeaten century overshadowed nationwide contender Ruturaj Gaikwad’s 108 to chase down a goal of 249 with 21 balls to spare. “I believe the toss did play a vital position, we had been lagging behind. It was 30-70 p.c of benefit/drawback. After 30-40 overs, we had been forward. Batting first, 250 was an excellent whole,” Gaikwad mentioned after the match.

As Gaikwad rightly conceded, that toss did grow to be one of many main deciding elements as Unadkat rightly put Maharashtra into bat.

On the onset, he led the bowling present with an exemplary opening spell (6-1-5-0) within the Powerplay after electing to discipline as Gaikwad batted in a painstakingly gradual vogue scoring 15 off first 61 balls.

“(It’s) unbelievable and but to sink in. Profitable one time is superb however profitable it second time proves that we’re a champion facet. Huge recreation, massive guys stepped up,” the champion skipper mentioned on the post-match presentation ceremony. Whereas Unadkat (1/25 with 41 dot balls) was Saurashtra’s bowling hero within the first 10 overs, preserving the damaging Gaikwad underneath tight leash, the final 10 overs of the Maharashtra innings belonged to all-rounder Chirag Jani. The seam bowling all-rounder’s forty eighth over hat-trick (Saurabh Nawale,

Rajvardhan Hagargekar and Vicky Ostwal) did cease Maharashtra from including at the very least 20 extra runs.

Bowling wicket-to-wicket, Jani cleaned up Nawale and Hangargekar after which sealed his hat-trick, trapping Vicky Ostwal plumb in entrance. Maharashtra managed simply two boundaries and scored 37 runs dropping 5 wickets within the subsequent seven overs in a vital turning level for Saurashtra.

Within the center overs, it was one other Gaikwad present as he carved his title as a ‘Vijay Hazare legend’ along with his twelfth hundred (highest in competitors historical past) with seven fours and 4 sixes. He thus had three tons of in three knock-out video games however on a slowish monitor, Saurashtra bowlers by no means actually let the Maharashtra batters dominate with second greatest rating being Azim Kazi’s 31. With Saurashtra bowlers making the proper execution towards him, Gaikwad clearly fought laborious for his hundred that was evident along with his roaring celebration when he notched his century off a boundary towards Jani.

Chasing a below-par goal, Saurashtra received off to an ideal begin with Jackson and Harvik Desai (50; 67 balls) stitching a 125-run opening stand in 26.4 ovrs.

Mukesh Choudhary (2/38) then gave a double blow, dismissing Desai with a brief ball and Jay Gohil (0) with angular one in an area of three balls whereas a 3rd wicket — Samarth Vyas (12) was holed within the deep of Ostwal’s bowling.

They misplaced half of their facet 39.5 overs after all-rounder Prerak Mankad was cleaned up by left-arm spinner Satyajeet Bachhav because the match was evenly poised with Saurashtra needing 57 in 10.1 overs.

Nonetheless Bacchav was hammered by Jackson, who hit 4 out of his 5 sixes off the left-arm orthodox’s bowling.

However Maharashtra failed to use strain and a few sloppy fielding allow them to down. India’s U-19 World Cup Rajvardhan Hangargekar (0/70 in 9 overs) received a good quantity of pasting.

The match ended when Jackson despatched seamer Manoj Ingale over sq. leg for a six and performed the leg look to chase down the goal.

Temporary Scores

Maharashtra 248/9; 50 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 108, Azim Kazi 37; Chirag Jani 3/43) misplaced to Saurashtra 249/5; 46.3 overs (Sheldon Jackson 133, Harvik Desai 50; Mukesh Chaudhary 2/38, Vicky Ostwal 2/20) by 5 wickets.

Related Articles

Back to top button